Error message

Notice: unserialize(): Error at offset 11 of 34 bytes in variable_initialize() (line 1255 of /share/web/drupal/web/includes/


The focus of this workshop will be on a wide range of recent developments at the forefront of research in quantum magnetism. It is organised by the "Crete Center for Quantum Complexity and Nanotechnology"  and will bring together leading experts in this field, following the spirit of the previous NOVMAG workshop "Transport phenomena in low dimensional quantum magnets’, held in September 2010 and LOTHERM workshop "Quantum Magnets 2013, Advances in Quantum Magnets - Dynamics", held in September 2013.

Topics of the Workshop include:

  • quantum spin chains and ladders
  • transport and dynamics
  • skyrmions
  • spin ice 
  • spin liquids 
  • frustrated magnets
  • iridates, new materials
  • magnonics

The program will feature invited talks as well as poster presentations.
The number of participants is limited. Please contact the Organizing Committee if you are interested in attending the Workshop.

All sessions will take place at the Orthodox Academy of Crete (OAC) which is situated 39 km west of the airport of Chania.

List of invited speakers:

  • Ian Affleck, University of British Columbia
  • Hideo Aoki, University of Tokyo
  • Cristian D. Batista, Los Alamos National Laboratory, New Mexico
  • Valentina Bisogni, Brookhaven National Lab – NSLS II
  • Amy Briffa, CCQCN, University of Crete
  • Collin Broholm, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore
  • Yury Bunkov, Institut Neel
  • Jean-Sebastian Caux, University of Amsterdam
  • Sang-Wook Cheong, Rutgers University
  • Sasha Chernyshev, University of California, Irvine
  • Dirk Grundler, Technical University Munich
  • Joachim Hemberger, University of Cologne
  • Jacek Herbrych, CCQCN, University of Crete
  • Burkard Hillebrands, University of Kaiserslautern
  • Elias Kiritsis, Univeresity of Crete and APC
  • Andreas Kluemper, University of Wuppertal
  • Johannes Knolle, University of Cambridge
  • Thomas Lorenz, University of Cologne
  • Fabian Heidrich-Meissner, LMU Munich
  • Johannes Moeller, ETH Zurich
  • Ashwin Mohan, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), Mumbai, India
  • Matteo Montagnese, University of Cologne
  • Robin Steinigeweg, Technical University Braunschweig
  • Takashi Oka, University of Tokyo
  • Sander Otte, Delft University of Technology
  • Peter Prelovsek, Josef Stefan Institute, Ljubljana
  • Christina Psaroudaki, University of Basel, Switzerland
  • Alexandre Revcolevschi, Universite Paris-Sud
  • Achim Rosch, University of Cologne
  • Hirokazu Tsunetsugu, University of Tokyo
  • Zhe Wang, University of Augsburg
  • Sergei Zvyagin, Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf, Dresden

Participants' Photo

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.